The Joys Of Pregnancy

So I really didn’t fall of the face of the earth! I promise! I’ve been right here at home dealing with this pregnancy. I say it like that because that’s how I feel right now, that I’m just dealing with it. It has been a rough couple of weeks. Actually, that is a dramatic understatement! I’ve been horribly ill, thinking I’m dying, balled up on the couch kinda ill. Morning sickness is a joke! It’s all day sickness non stop for the past 14 days! AHHHH, but I’m feeling much better today so I write to you!

It started off with just the little bit of nausea that’s to be expected with pregnancy. Then, I go to a “confirmation” appointment and the nurse tells me it’s better to stop taking my Celexa meds. Ok, she’s a nurse, I’ve never had to take them with the other pregnancies so I stopped. BIG NO NO!!!!!!
What I thought was just a bit of morning sickness turned into violently throwing up, chills, sweats, no energy, completely feeling exhausted all the time, sleeping 18 hours a day. After praying and crying and screaming for help a friend suggested some ginger tea. I took myself to the store, which was a huge deal, and got some. It did help with the nausea a bit but the trade off was my acid reflux was horrible with drinking it. Then a girlfriend brought me some ginger essential oil. God love her. It too helped a bit. Then another girlfriend brought me some peppermint and lavender oil because at that point everything smelled funny to me and it was driving me crazy.

I stayed in my pathetic state for almost 2 weeks before my husband, God love him he just wanted to make me better, researched my symptoms and VIOLA! I had every symptom of withdrawals from the Celexa! I started taking it again immediately and it took about 3-4 days but I’m much better! I took it upon myself to research whether it was safe to take during pregnancy and it is one of the ones listed to take. Until I see my OBGYN, the real thing, not a nurse, I’m going to continue to take it. I’m not sure how many others have stopped taking meds like that before but it was my first time and definitely my last. If I choose or no longer feel the need for Celexa I will definitely ween myself off of it. Quitting cold turkey was brutal and I wouldn’t wish feeling like that on my worst enemy.

I think I can officially say I can relate to someone coming off a drug addiction. That’s exactly how my body, spirit, soul felt. It was just like the movies. Mom laying on the couch bundled up with that nothingness look in her eyes! That was me for 2 weeks!!!!!! My whole family suffered. I cried more than I ever have in that time frame. Even my mom asked me if I was ok. She said honey your eyes are so empty. I just told her the truth, I feel completely empty!

I want to thank my friends and family for praying for me. And God especially for giving my husband the discernment to look up my symptoms. Who knows how long I would’ve laid and suffered…… probably until my next check up which is 3 weeks away!!!!! The thought of that sends a chill down my spine.

I just wanted to let you all know that I was still alive and hope to get back to writing, sharing, and encouraging you all! Thank you for sticking around!

Blessings,
Tiffany
Linking to some if not all of these wonderful bloggers:
we are that family
Wordless Wednesday
pinching pennies
raising homemakers
Deep roots at home
our simple farm
frugally sustainable
wednesday in the word
ginger snap crafts
my daily walk in his grace
day to day joys
lindas lunacy
heavenly homemakers
slightly indulgent tuesday
tackle it tuesday
hearts 4 home thursday
a pinch of joy
organizing junkie
muffin tin monday
raising arrows
mop it up monday
motivate me monday
its so very cheri
mad skill link party
top ten tuesday @ many little blessings
simply better
lil’ luna
made by me wednesday
strut your stuff saturdays

20130118-065243.jpg<a href="http:// “>domestic randomness

3 thoughts on “The Joys Of Pregnancy

  1. How scary! I am glad you are feeling better. And although ginger tea is wonderful for stomach upset I can see how it would burn your reflux-ow!

  2. Oh my, I’m sorry it was so bad. That is crazy that a nurse told you to go off it like that. If you are worried about it you could call your ob and ask the nurses to ask the dr about it. I didn’t know what that medicine was so I looked it up and found out it is the name brand for the same medicine that my husband takes so I warned him about this for if he ever needs to go off it. Thanks for sharing. Sorry it was so miserable for you. I’m glad you are feeling better.
    I would love it if you would share this (and anything else you have been working on) at my linky party! http://domesticrandomness.blogspot.com/2013/01/friday-fascinations-8-everything-linky.html

Leave a Reply

