Weekly Memory Verse Week 26

It’s another week! Praise God for a fresh new week. The past is done, yesterday is gone and all we can do is live for today! I’ve got to be honest with you all…. we didn’t do very well memorizing last weeks verse. The kids questioned what God-breathed meant and though I explained it numerous times and looked the verse up in different translations to read to them, they just didn’t get it. It was an off week and all we can do is try better this week and get Gods word in our hearts.

That’s my little confession of the week! Here we go with this weeks verse:

It is better, if it is Gods will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil
1Peter 3:17 (NIV)

This might be one of the hardest things in our own FLESH to do. How unpleasant it is to suffer for doing good! We want to know why? We want to know what we did wrong? We want to question the very God that called us to such things?

I have to tell you that as a christian we sometimes do suffer from the world even when we are doing good. I have someone in my life that no matter how I love them, no matter how nice I am to them, no matter what I do for them, it’s always met with resistance. Even though my heart is genuine, the wrath of said person always seems to fall on me. I get hurt. I get upset. I question. I don’t understand. I sometimes wonder why God has placed such a person in my life. I know though, through this verse that God intended for me to do his will in loving that person, no matter how hard it is to do. No matter how many times I get hurt. No matter how I try to keep the peace, I am to LOVE.

In our lives it is sometime very hard to fight the flesh. I sometimes want to snap back and be mean and vicious! I sometimes want to hurt said person the way I’ve been hurt. Then a little nudge from the Holy Spirit reminds me, “it is better, if it is Gods will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil” Won’t you join me this week in memorizing this scripture? It’s a good one to hold on to when you’re suffering through something for Christ!

Blessings,
Tiffany

I’d love to have you comment on what God is revealing to you this week! Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

