Do you keep a routine in the summer?

I have to say that I don’t really want to have a routine in the summer. With that said, we DO keep a routine, or some semblance of one in the summer months. We homeschool year round, it’s easier to take time off that way, and the summer months usually are only a few hours a day. I still get up at 4:30 a.m. with my genius man to make his breakfast and lunch. He doesn’t get a summer vacation. The kids do better with a routine. That’s been proven time and again.

I ask this question because so many people I talk to say there kids are just getting up at noon, or the kids tell me they stayed up till 5a.m. What does a ten year old do to keep themselves awake till 5a.m.? Our children go to bed at 9p.m. and are allowed to read in there bed till 10 if they so choose but most of them fall asleep in the process. Dexter who is a few weeks shy of 14 goes to bed at 10, or at least to her room. I wake the kids most days by 8a.m. It feels like we get so much more accomplished. So do you keep your kids on a routine? I believe in parent supervision. Who is watching your kids at say 2a.m.? Do they have access to the internet? Do they have access to any show they want on t.v.? Are there ipods, ipads, and and other electronic devices parentally controlled? If you are one that doesn’t keep a routine I challenge you to ask your kids and talk to them about what they do when they stay up late. Kids are curious! They will search things that bring up other things you wouldn’t want them to see. Just ask. That is the best way to know what there up to. Please, I’m not passing judgement or condemning anyone. In reality I’m a bit jealous. I’d love to stay up late and sleep in. That just isn’t something we do. So do you keep a routine? Comment below and let me know what keeps you in or out of a routine in the dog days of summer.

Blessings,
Tiffany

Leave a Reply

