We are crazy! Or are we?

We stick out like a sore thumb anywhere we go. It’s true! We go to dinner with the family, people look at us when we hold hands and pray. People look at us when our kids are being quiet and respectful in the restaurant. When we’re out shopping people often comment “Are they all yours?” That one is especially true when I’m with the children by myself. Even as we are in the process of finding a home church, people look and stare. They are blown away that we teach our kids to stand and worship. They are blown away that if my children feel led they will lift there hands in praise. They are baffled that a 4 year old little boy can sit still for an hour sermon and not make a peep. And that’s without toys or coloring or any of the like. Our neighbors think we’re crazy for sitting outside and playing with our children when they are outside. Our home has become the “street” hangout. If we’re out, we have a ton of neighbor kids here wanting to play and hangout. Our own family thinks we’re a tad bit crazy. One, for wanting more of a gang. Two, for holding our kids to high standards. And three for not giving in to the latest and greatest fashion and techno craze. Maybe we are crazy. Maybe we are weird. Maybe just maybe these things are true but hear me out. I don’t think it’s a great example to pray over our meals JUST at our home, so we pray wherever we eat. I don’t think it’s too much to train your child to sit through a dinner, be it 15 minutes at McDonalds, or an hour at a sit down place. I don’t think it’s crazy to take 5 kids grocery shopping or to the hardware store, or anywhere else that might otherwise not be fun for them. I don’t think we are crazy for teaching our kids to worship and praise GOD for everything they have in this world. For the very breath they breathe to the smallest toy they have. I do think it’s odd that we are the only ones 99% of the time outside playing and investing in our children. And to me, it’s an investment and a lesson. One day they will have kids of their own and i hope and pray they will play outside with them too. I don’t think it’s crazy at all to want as many children that God wants to give us. Each and every one of my children have been given to me from the ONE above. Not one of them was an accident or something I wished for. He knows what he’s doing and I trust HIM. I don’t think I’m crazy for wanting and teaching my kids to be Not of this World! Seriously?!?!?!?!? Have you looked at this world and the standards or lack thereof. I want my kids to be Jesus Freaks! I want my kids to be radical for the things of God. And finally, I don’t think I’m all that crazy for NOT spoiling my kids rotten with things! And they are just that….. things. They will eventually need better things than temporal fashions and overpriced media junk that they will never be allowed to use for lack of parental controls. So yeah, maybe we are a little crazy. Maybe my family does stick out, and I’m ok with that because I’m living and raising and teaching them to live like a Romans 12 christian!

Romans 12:2
Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what Gods will is- his good, pleasing, and perfect will.

Because…………. NORMAL IS NOT ENOUGH

Blessings,
Tiffany

Linking to some of these other wonderful blogs:
Linking to :
we are that family
Wordless Wednesday
pinching pennies
raising homemakers
Deep roots at home
our simple farm
frugally sustainable
wednesday in the word
ginger snap crafts
my daily walk in his grace
day to day joys
lindas lunacy
heavenly homemakers
slightly indulgent tuesday
tackle it tuesday
hearts 4 home thursday

20121204-032607.jpg

20121204-032617.jpg

20121204-032628.jpg

20121204-032639.jpg

2 thoughts on “We are crazy! Or are we?

  1. We do all the things you mentioned above, and we have been so blessed to have people especially senior citizens, lean over as they leave a restaurant and tell us how wonderful it was to “watch” our family. People are watching. We don’t train our children for these people we train them for God’s glory. It is nice when people notice and I believe He is glorified, because part of the reason we teach our kids to sit quietly in church is to honor others around them who are trying to hear, too. Very well, said, and it’s nice to know we are not the only ones doing this.

Leave a Reply

